2017 Recipients of Auxiliary to the AVMA Legacy Endowed Scholarship

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - By: AVMF News

The American Veterinary Medical Foundation (AVMF) is extremely proud to offer the Auxiliary to the AVMA Legacy Endowed Scholarship Program, created in recognition of the AVMF’s long standing relationship with the Auxiliary to the AVMA.  During the 2016 - 2017 academic year, a $1,000 scholarship was awarded to a student at each of the 32 AVMA accredited veterinary colleges in the United States, the Atlantic Veterinary College in Canada and St. George's University and Ross University in the Caribbean to support their educational endeavors.

Having seen the need for financial aid to veterinary students, the Auxiliary voted in 1921 to establish the veterinary student loan fund. Despite the tough economic times of that era, the Auxiliary was successful in raising money to assist students. The Auxiliary’s support of veterinary students has continued uninterrupted since that time. In 2013, in a partnership with the AVMF, the Auxiliary converted the loan fund to a scholarship fund.

Award recipients were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, and leadership. The 2017 scholarship recipients are:

  • Atlantic Veterinary College: Madaline Ebel
  • Auburn University: Carolyn Hubbard
  • Colorado State University: Andrea Herndon
  • Cornell University: Lauren Jacobs
  • Iowa State University: Molly Long
  • Kansas State University: Brett Montague
  • Lincoln Memorial University: Alyssa Zoto
  • Louisiana State University: Alexandra Ford
  • Michigan State University: Kayla Niel
  • Midwestern University: Kayla McCrone
  • Mississippi State University: Randi Clark
  • North Carolina State University: Danielle Mzyk
  • Oklahoma State University: Sarah George
  • Oregon State University: Morgan Damm
  • Purdue University: Leslie Lundewall
  • Ross University: Natalie Rosenstein
  • St. George’s University: Anastasia Lucignani
  • Texas A & M University: Alesha Rimmelin
  • The Ohio State University: Sylvie Cohen
  • Tufts University: Claire Lyons
  • Tuskegee University: Shakera Fudge
  • University of California, Davis: Elizabeth Malcolm
  • University of Florida: Alysha Salapack
  • University of Georgia: Joette Crews
  • University of Illinois: Gina Vecere
  • University of Minnesota: Nicole Emmitt
  • University of Missouri: Sarita Patel
  • University of Pennsylvania: Hanum-Wensil Strow
  • University of Tennessee: Casey Clements
  • University of Wisconsin: Rachel O’Leary
  • Virginia/Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine: Amanda Carlson
  • Washington State University: Chantelle Khambholja
  • Western University: Marichris Nario

To learn more about this and other scholarships offered by the Foundation, visit