Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Innovation Awards


Merck Animal Health, in partnership with the American Veterinary Medical Foundation (AVMF), has established the Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Innovation Awards. This award is designed to recognize graduating seniors at each veterinary school accredited through the American Veterinary Medical Association in the U.S. and Canada. Awards are given to students in good academic standing and have demonstrated innovation, entrepreneurship and creative forward-thinking in the development of a project or product that inspires others within the veterinary profession.

Congratulations to the 2018 Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Innovation Award Recipients

Lincoln Memorial University - Kayla Mehan

"By receiving this award, I hope to continue to make a difference in the lives of shelter animals, particularly in underserved areas such as the Appalachia."

The Ohio State University - Ruben Pabon Padin

"This award helped me monetarily, but most importantly, gave me the boost I needed to continue fighting for what I believe in."

Louisiana State University - Carolyn Benedetto

“This award inspired and empowered me to question the status quo, to explore the best possible treatments for my patients, and continue to pursue my passion of finding ways to create an inclusive work environment.”

Tufts University - Anika Farina

“The Innovation Award has re-inspired my passion for advancing wellness within the profession and will assist in my relocation to Denver, CO where I will begin my career in small animal general practice.”

Mississippi State University - Courtney Griffin

"I am grateful to Merck Animal Health and the AVMF for recognizing students who strive to make a positive impact on the veterinary profession.“

University of California-Davis - Max Manse

“The biggest impact this award will have on my career was helping me relocate to Massachusetts to start my new job at Andover Animal Hospital this summer.”

Purdue University - Kara Negrini

"The Merck Innovation Award has and will continue to impact my career by serving as a constant reminder to think outside the box.”

University of Missouri - Wendy Evans

"This award was particularly important for me as a student, because it made me more aware of the overall importance of innovation within our profession."

Texas A & M University - Caitlin Conner

“This has given me an extra push to continue my involvement in organized veterinary medicine and to fight for and encourage the well-being of veterinary professionals."

University of Wisconsin - Shannon Gildersleeve

"I strongly believe that, now more than ever, taking care of ourselves and each other is incredibly important. This award reinforces that belief and encourages me to continue to advocate moving forward in my career.”

 Additional Recipients:

Auburn University - Samantha Morici
Colorado State University - Maryanne Miko Flasik
Cornell University - Matthew Robert DiFazio
Iowa State University - Chelsea Ruston
Kansas State University - Akaterina Davros
Michigan State University - Mackenzie Gallegos
Midwestern University - Rayeann Solano
North Carolina State University - John Griffeon
Oregon State University - Laura MacIntyre
University of Guelph - Shannon Finn
University of Illinois - Suzanne Wilson
University of Minnesota - Lindsey Knox
University of Montreal - Nicolas Gendron-Parra
University of Prince Edward Island - Meredith Chamberlain
University of Tennessee - Richard Blaine Sparks
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine - Amanda Carlson
Washington State University - Nicholas Hall
Western University - Dustin Ong