AVMF Veterinary Scholarship Program

The American Veterinary Medical Foundation awards scholarships to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd year students attending accredited colleges of veterinary medicine in the United States. Students are encouraged to consider both traditional and non-traditional careers as they move forward in their education to understand the many options that the veterinary profession offers.

One applicant is also selected to receive a $2,500 scholarship from the Winn Feline Foundation. This award will be given to a 3rd or 4th year veterinary student who demonstrates a keen interest in cats. Emphasis is placed on those students who are involved in or volunteer for activities that benefit the health and welfare of cats, such as research, shelter work, cat clubs, and other community service programs. GPA and financial need are also considered for this special scholarship.

The World Aquatic Veterinary Medical Association (WAVMA) will be awarding scholarships to veterinary students interested in exploring the possibility of a career in veterinary medicine.  Funding from these awards can be used to attend workshops or educational symposiums related to aquatic veterinary medicine. All applicants are eligible to apply for these awards.

Dr. Elinor McGrath is recognized as American’s first practicing female veterinarian.  She was born in 1888 and graduated from the Chicago Veterinary College in April 1910.  Overcoming the many obstacles that faced her at the time, she went on to practice veterinary medicine in Chicago and was the first female admitted into the AVMA.  In honor of Dr. McGrath, the AVMF and Juliette Fassett will award a $500 scholarship to a female applicant who has achieved her goals with Dr. McGrath’s strength and determination.

AVMF Scholarship Guidelines

Applications are no longer being accepted for the current year. Please revisit our website in February 2014 for next year’s awards availability announcement.

2012 Scholarship Recipients
Kristin Bohling, Iowa State University
Danielle Botting, University of Minnesota
Heidi Broadley, Tufts University
Katrina Castaneda, University of California - Davis
Chelsea Crawford, University of Wisconsin

Lu Dao, University of California - Davis
Braidee Foote, University of California - Davis 

Julia Herman, Colorado State University
Kathleen Kraska, Oregon State University
Dana Lieu, Washington State University 
Todd Marlo, University of Illinois
Megan Mathias, North Carolina State University

Samantha McGill, University of Wisconsin
Sharon Ostermann, University of California - Davis
Heidi Pecoraro, Colorado State University 

Kelsey Shaw, Cornell University
Travis Vlietstra, Iowa State University
Candace Wimbish, Oklahoma State University

2011 Scholarship Recipients
Anna Altobelli, Kansas State University
Courtney Blake, Iowa State University
Matt Brewer, Iowa State University
Lynn Brockway, University of Missouri
Vanessa Wen-XI, University of California – Davis
Kari Chesney, University of Missouri
Dana Franzen, University of Wisconsin
Lauren Habenicht, Colorado State University
Kathryn Hooper, Oregon State University
Carrie Muller, Western University
Amelia Naher, Washington State University
Melissa Nashat, Cornell University
Ravee Padte, Cornell University
Timothy Perano, University of California – Davis
Alexander Piazza, Michigan State University
Megan Pozza, The Ohio State University
Cari Rasmussen, University of Illinois
Rochelle Reddig, Kansas State University
Jose Rivera-Rivas, University of Wisconsin
Caroline Salter, University of Georgia
Kate Schoenhals, Oregon State University
Kathryn Sharbrough Bass, Tuskegee University
Mary Thurber, University of Wisconsin
Laura Willard, University of Minnesota
Melissa Yu, Tufts University

2011 Mildred C. Sylvester Scholarship Recipient
Christopher Torre, University of Pennsylvania