Auxiliary Scholarship Information

** Applications for the 2019 scholarship program are no longer being accepted.**

The American Veterinary Medical Foundation (AVMF) is extremely proud to offer the Auxiliary to the AVMA Legacy Endowed Scholarship Program, which was created in recognition of the AVMF’s long standing relationship with the Auxiliary to the AVMA. 

The AVMF is committed to helping offset the cost of veterinary medical education. Through our scholarship programs we have a long, successful history of providing financial support to veterinary students.

The Auxiliary to the AVMA is a non-profit organization of family, veterinarians, associates and friends of the veterinary profession whose purpose is to promote the science and art of veterinary medicine through communications, education and support of those associated with the profession. Shortly after World War II, the Auxiliary started a student loan fund to assist with the hardships facing veterinary families due to injury or death from the war. Despite the tough economic times of that era the Auxiliary was successful in raising money to assist practitioners. The Auxiliary’s support of the veterinary profession has continued uninterrupted since that time.

In 2013, the Auxiliary transferred $2,000,000 to the AVMF to establish The Auxiliary to the AVMA Legacy Endowed Scholarship Program. Annual proceeds from the endowment will support veterinary student scholarships for many years to come. Scholarships will be awarded to students at each of the AVMA-accredited veterinary colleges in the United States and the following international veterinary colleges: Atlantic Veterinary College in Canada; St. George's University and Ross University in the Caribbean; Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, Royal Veterinary College and the University of Glasgow in Europe. To be eligible a school must be AVMA-accredited and have an active SAVMA chapter. Applicants must be citizens of the United States.