2nd Opportunity Research Scholarship

The AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Summer Research Scholarship is intended to provide support for currently enrolled veterinary students who have previously conducted a summer research project and are seeking to gain a second summer of research experience. Five $5,000 awards will be provided in 2022. 

Download the 2021-2022 application and apply today!

 Congratulations to 2020-2021 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research Scholarship Recipients!*

Brittany Allen Brittany Allen, The Ohio State University 
Area of focus: developing and Optimizing a Flow Cytometry-Based Assay for Feline Infectious Peritonitis Virus
Jacqueline Chevalier


Jacqueline Chevalier, Cornell University
Area of focus: macrophage phenotyping of foreign body reaction following polyvinyl alcohol hydrogel implantation in an ovine model of cartilage repair

Aubrey Specht

Aubrey Specht, Tufts University
Area of focus: antimicrobial gene diversity in Boston’s rat population

Remy Watts, Atlantic Veterinary College
Area of focus: SBRT combined with local injection of a TLR9 agonist + OX40 agonistic antibody immunotherapy on the intratumoral immune microenvironment of canine solid tumors

Yinyu Yuan

Yinyu Yuan, University of Wisconsin
Area of focus: investigating the relationship between maternal sleep apnea and maternal immune activation



2019-2020 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research Scholarship Recipients

Kaitlyn Marie Cassel – University of Pennsylvania
Emily Lemoine – University of Missouri
Anna Mukhina – Michigan State University
Maya Schlesinger – University of California Davis
Alexandria Marie Zabiegala – Kansas State University

2018-2019 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research Scholarship Recipients

Sydney Bork – Colorado State University
Kaylie Canda – University of Missouri
Tyler Hawbecker - Iowa State University
Gillian Herbert - University of Georgia
Rachel Stahl - The Ohio State University

2017-2018 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research  Scholarship Recipients

Ashley Hopkins – Purdue University
Paxton Parker – University of Tennessee
Keira Sztukowski - Colorado State University
Logan Weyland – Washington State University
Zoe Williams – Michigan State University

2016-2017 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research  Scholarship Recipients

Samantha Fousse –University of California - Davis
Kim Haight – University of Georgia
Rachel McMahon – University of Wisconsin-Madison
Courtney Rousse – North Carolina State University
Courtney Smith – Texas A&M University

2015-2016 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research  Scholarship Recipients

Mitch Caudill – Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
Sarah Chung – Texas A&M University
Jordan Ford – Cornell University
Sarah Linn – The Ohio State University
Kimberly (Schreiber) Young – North Carolina State University

2014-2015 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research Scholarship Recipients 

Amanda Kortum – North Carolina State
Katherine Bachman – The Ohio State University
Jennifer Storer – University of Tennessee
Hannah Savage – University of California, Davis
Taylor Pursell – Texas A & M University

*** APPLICATIONS for the 2020-2021 AVMA/AVMF 2nd Opportunity Research Scholarships are no longer being accepted. **